I will never forget the instant when I finally made the realization I had to leave him.

That was the instant my life changed forever.

That was the instant when I started living for myself .

For years, I worked hard to make his life the best it could be for him.

It was never about us.

It was never about me.

It was about an image he wanted,

The control he craved,

And essentially, as I know now,

The insecurities he felt about himself.

When I failed repeatedly,

Because his expectations were way out of reach,

I began to view myself as a failure.

In that instant, I was on a path to a place where

I would find worth and value in all that I did.

In that instant, I was on a path to a place where

I was smart enough and funny enough to enrich people’s lives.

I that instant, I was on a path to a place where

I was pretty enough and I would love who I was,

Despite my flaws.

In that instant, I was on a path to a place where

I would trust myself to make decisions.

I was on a path to happiness

In the instant

when I finally made the realization

I had to leave him.

